New Streamlined Microsoft Certification For 2017

Microsoft Announces Big MCSE & MCSD Certification Changes

  • 3 January 2017
  • Author: Liam Phelan
  • Number of views: 7045

Microsoft Announces Big MCSE & MCSD Certification Changes

Microsoft has released a streamlined certification scheme aligning to industry-recognised areas of competence designed to showcase a student’s specific skills on Microsoft products and services.

Five new Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) and Developer (MCSD) specialities have been released. To earn each of the new certifications, you must first earn a qualifying Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) certification, and then, pass a single additional exam from a list of electives associated with the corresponding certification. The resulting MCSE or MCSD certification will be added to your transcript and will never expire.

The Five New Expert Certifications Are:

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

Skills validation for Windows Server and Microsoft Azure

MCSE: Mobility

Skills validation for Windows Client and Enterprise Mobility Suite

MCSE: Data Management and Analysis

Skills validation for both on-premises and cloud-based Microsoft data products and services

MCSE: Productivity

Skills validation for Office 365, SharePoint, Exchange, and Skype for Business

MCSD: App Builder

Skills validation for Web and Mobile app development

Every year, you will have the opportunity to re-earn the certification by passing an additional exam from the list of electives, allowing you to deepen your skills in a given Centre of Excellence. This process will replace the existing recertification requirement of taking a specific recertification exam every 2 years (MCSD) or 3 years (MCSE) in order to prevent a certification from going inactive.

These certifications are now released. Those individuals who currently hold active MCSE or MCSD certifications from the following list will earn the corresponding new MCSE or MCSD certifications for 2016 without having to take any additional exams.

  • MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Private Cloud
  • MCSE: Data Platform
  • MCSE: Business Intelligence
  • MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps
  • MCSE: SharePoint
  • MCSE: Communication
  • MCSE: Messaging
  • MCSD: Universal Windows Platform
  • MCSD: Web Applications
  • MCSD: SharePoint Applications

In addition, all individuals who have passed a qualifying elective exam since January 1, 2016 will be granted the corresponding new MCSE or MCSD certifications for 2016 without the need to take additional exams, if they have met all exam requirements.

From now through Dec 31, 2016, Individuals with inactive MCSE or MCSD certifications have the choice of taking a recertification exam or a new exam from the list of electives associated with the corresponding Centre of Excellence to earn the new certification.

Check out our new Microsoft Certification paths for 2018

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker



Subscribe to our Newsletter

cheat sheet resources

Subscribe to our Newsletter for all the latest cheat sheets and resources.